Each year, NICSA recognizes industry leaders for both their innovation and achievements in the industry and their service to NICSA. To learn more about each of these awards and their recipients, please select a link below.

NICSA Lifetime Achievement Award
NICSA Committee MVP Awards
Outstanding Service to the Fund Industry - Robert L. Gould Award


The NICSA NOVA Awards showcase excellence in innovation and leadership across a number of categories within the asset management industry.

The Awards recognize outstanding organizations and industry professionals that excel in the field of asset management by demonstrating exemplary leadership and innovation.  Considerations include creative design and implementation of business initiatives resulting in positive and long-lasting contribution to their respective company and/or the industry as a whole.

NICSA is proud to serve an industry built on the dedication to meet investor needs with outstanding client service. NICSA NOVA Award winners clearly demonstrate that the asset management industry is committed to delivering an overall client experience that exceeds expectations.

The NICSA NOVA Awards are presented annually at the General Membership Meeting in Boston. The 2017 General Membership Meeting will be taking place October 5-6.

Click here to view the 2017 categories and to nominate. 


2016 Recipients
 Innovation in Product Development & Marketing
Winner: Goldman Sachs Asset Management
Operational Excellence
Winner: OppenheimerFunds
Strategic Leadership
Winner: Ned Burke, Chief Executive Officer, ALPS

NICSA Lifetime Achievement Award

The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award honors distinguished executives (or recent retirees) who, during their lifetimes, have made impactful contributions of outstanding leadership to the field of asset management. This visionary will have shown an extraordinary personal commitment to the industry across multiple areas over a significant period of time.

This Award seeks to recognize members of the field who have devoted their professional lives to the development and betterment of the asset management industry.  Nominees must have demonstrated at least 25 years of service to asset management and be current or retired employees of NICSA member firms.

Click here to nominate. 

 2015 Recipient
Paul O'Neil
HengTian Services

2014 Recipient

Joan Dowd
Chief Compliance Officer
Boston Financial


2012 Recipient
Jan Clifford


2007 Recipient
Edward J. Falvey

NICSA Committee MVP Awards

Each year, NICSA recognizes volunteers from committees whose sustained contribution over the past year was deemed exceptional by the committees' co-chairs.


Click here to view the MVP awards presented in January 2017.

Click here to view the MVP awards presented in January 2016. 

Outstanding service to the fund industry - Robert L. Gould Award

The Robert L. Gould Award recognizes outstanding achievement by an individual who has helped the fund industry better serve its investors by improving the quality of customer service.

This Award honors senior-level Operations Executives (or recent retirees) who have made a significant personal contribution to their organization and to the wider industry knowledge base of financial services operations. Candidates will have demonstrated exceptional thought leadership and influence within the fund operations community over a significant period of time.

The award seeks to recognize an individual whose advocacy has, during a distinguished career, significantly advanced and/or improved investment operations, and who by substantial service to NICSA, has significantly furthered the cause and the mission of the Association.

The Robert L. Gould Award was established in 1987 by the Board of Directors of NICSA in memory of a leader whose death at 54 years of age deprived the mutual fund industry of an unusually creative, innovative, and dynamic executive. Mr. Gould made a significant contribution to the financial services industry through the development of systems, methods, and procedures to better serve shareholders. At the time of his death, he was president of DST Systems in Kansas City, Missouri.  The Award is supported through the contributions of DST Systems, Inc.


2016 Recipient
Fred Naddaff
Chief Operating Officer, Transfer Agency and Investor Services

 Past Recipients
David A. Hughey - 1987
Edward C. Johnson, III - 1988
Thomas A. McDonnell - 1989
C. Herbert Emilson - 1990
Tarrant Cutler - 1991
Robert W. Blucke - 1992
James S. Riepe - 1993
Manuel R. Hernandez - 1994
William T. Blackwell - 1995
Jon S. Fossel - 1996
David M. Kelly - 1997
Charles R. Schwab - 1998
John C. Bogle - 1999
A. Edward Allinson - 2000
Matthew P. Fink - 2001
Bridget A. Macaskill - 2002
Thomas McCullough - 2003
Charles B. Johnson - 2004
Paul G. Haaga, Jr. - 2005
Robert C. Pozen - 2006
Robert Reynolds - 2007
John J. Brennan - 2008
John F. Cogan, Jr. - 2009
Laurence D. Fink - 2010
Jennifer M. Johnson - 2012
Robert Tritt - 2014


  • NICSA Member Portal Login
Click below to sign into the NICSA member portal.

» Sign in

Don't have an account? Click Here...

Follow Us

Upcoming Events

  • NICSA Webinar: Penetrating the RIA/Family Office Space

    April 25, 2018 | 4:30pm - 5:30pm

    Learn more and register....

  • NICSA Webinar: TA Compliance Guide 101: Getting to Know NICSA's Essential Reference Guide

    May 9, 2018 | 2:00pm - 2:30pm

    Learn more and register...

  • NICSA Webinar: Are You GDPR Ready?

    May 16, 2018 | 10:00am - 11:00am

    Learn more and register....

  • IBA Annual Conference on the Globalisation of Investment Funds

    May 13-15, 2018 | New York, New York

    Learn more and register....

  • NICSA West Coast Regional Meeting (WCRM)

    June 5 & 6, 2018 | Los Angeles and San Francisco

    Learn more and register...

  • East Coast Regional Meeting (ECRM)

    July 17, 2018 | Boston

    More information coming soon.

  • NICSA 2018 Midwest Regional Meeting (MWRM)

    September 19, 2018

    Four locations: Kansas City, Denver, Chicago, Columbus

    More information coming soon.
  • NICSA 2018 General Membership Meeting (GMM)

    October 11-12, 2018 | Boston, MA

  • NICSA 2019 Strategic Leadership Forum (SLF)
    (37th Annual Conference)

    February 27 - March 1, 2019 | Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

  • NICSA 2019 General Membership Meeting (GMM)

    October 16-17, 2019 | Boston, MA

  • NICSA 2020 Strategic Leadership Forum (SLF)
    (38th Annual Conference)

    February 26 - 28, 2020 | Ft. Lauderdale, FL