NICSA  //  GMM  //  Contact us

NICSA Announces the Winners of the 2017 NICSA NOVA Awards

Asset Management Industry Leaders Honored for Excellence

MCLEAN, VA – August, 14, 2017 – NICSA is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 NICSA NOVA Awards. These awards showcase excellence in innovation and leadership across a number of categories within the asset management industry.

The winners will be honored at NICSA’s 2017 General Membership Meeting (GMM) on October 5th in Boston. Nominated by their colleagues within the asset management industry, this year’s winners were chosen by an independent panel of judges comprised of distinguished industry leaders. NICSA is pleased to announce the following NICSA NOVA Awards and Honorees:

NOVA Strategic Leadership Award
Honoree: Mark Casady, Retired Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, LPL Financial

NOVA Award for Innovation in Technology

Honoree: BNY Mellon

NOVA Award for Innovation in Product Development & Marketing
Honoree: DST Systems

NOVA Award for Operational Excellence
Honoree: State Street Corporation

NOVA Award for Emerging Leaders in the Asset Management Industry
Michael Akins, SVP & Head of ETFs, ALPS
Patrick Hurley, Vice President, OppenheimerFunds
Divya Mathew, Senior Manager, Deloitte
Kelli O’Brien, Vice President, J.P. Morgan

NICSA Lifetime Achievement Award
Honoree: Steve Duncan, President, American Funds

Robert L. Gould Award
Honoree: Jay Hooley, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, State Street Corporation

Fund Industry Lifetime Achievement Award

The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award honors distinguished executives (or recent retirees) who, during their lifetimes, have made impactful contributions of outstanding leadership to the field of asset management. This visionary will have shown an extraordinary personal commitment to the industry across multiple areas over a significant period of time.

This Award seeks to recognize members of the field who have devoted their professional lives to the development and betterment of the asset management industry.  Nominees must have demonstrated at least 25 years of service to asset management and be current or retired employees of NICSA member firms.

Note: Sitting NICSA board members and committee co-chairs are not eligible for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Outstanding Service to the Fund Industry Award - Robert L. Gould Award

The Robert L. Gould Award recognizes outstanding achievement by an individual who has helped the fund industry better serve its investors by improving the quality of customer service.

This Award honors senior-level Operations Executives (or recent retirees) who have made a significant personal contribution to their organization and to the wider industry knowledge base of financial services operations. Candidates will have demonstrated exceptional thought leadership and influence within the fund operations community over a significant period of time.

The award seeks to recognize an individual whose advocacy has, during a distinguished career, significantly advanced and/or improved investment operations, and who by substantial service to NICSA, has significantly furthered the cause and the mission of the Association.

The Robert L. Gould Award was established in 1987 by the Board of Directors of NICSA in memory of a leader whose death at 54 years of age deprived the mutual fund industry of an unusually creative, innovative, and dynamic executive. Mr. Gould made a significant contribution to the financial services industry through the development of systems, methods, and procedures to better serve shareholders. At the time of his death, he was president of DST Systems in Kansas City, Missouri.  The Award is supported through the contributions of DST Systems, Inc.

NOVA Strategic Leadership Award

The Strategic Leadership Award is NICSA’s highest recognition for business innovation within the asset management industry. This Award acknowledges and celebrates exemplary leadership by individuals or organizations that has had positive and significant impact on the asset management industry.  Award winners are change agents that have set an inspirational example for, and made a long-lasting contribution to, the asset management industry by improving overall capabilities to serve investors.

Visionary navigation of industry trends requires excellence in thought leadership, exemplary adaptation of evolving fiduciary standards, and a dedication to the advancement of the client experience. Strategic Leadership Award winners demonstrate leadership through cutting-edge business solutions with a wide scope of influence across the asset management industry.

NOVA Award for Innovation in Technology

This Award  recognizes visionaries in the asset management industry that have developed or implemented ground-breaking technology which has delivered financial, performance, and/or risk-reduction benefits to investors.

The Award showcases distinguished pioneers who have advanced the integration of transformative technology in order to drive improved efficiency, productivity, and client service capabilities. Candidates will have demonstrated creative utilization of cutting-edge technology solutions or business intelligence initiatives.

NOVA Award for Innovation in Product Development & Marketing

This Award recognizes trendsetting product development and marketing teams within the asset management industry’s leading organizations. 

Winners of this Award represent outstanding leadership in concept development and delivery resulting in "game changing" investment products and/or services that deliver enhanced value to shareholders.  The Award may also honor ground-breaking marketing campaigns across a multitude of categories, including content marketing, customer experience, analytics, and/or creative use of mobile or social tools to enhance client engagement.

NOVA Award for Operational Excellence

This award recognizes asset management teams or organizations that have implemented operational excellence programs to deliver outstanding business results and/or transformations.  Candidates will have made meaningful and lasting contributions to the industry by optimizing back office performance in pursuit of world class operations standards. 

Considerations include excellence in concept development and implementation of strategic initiatives resulting in process efficiency and/or performance improvement. Candidates will have demonstrated innovative methods to enhance systems and/or processes, generating impactful value for the asset management industry and enhancing the overall client experience.

NOVA Award for Emerging Leaders in the Asset Management Industry

This Award recognizes investment professionals under the age of 40 demonstrating excellence in performance innovation with outstanding contribution to the development of the asset management industry.

Candidates must demonstrate great potential in the field of asset management by exemplifying the enthusiasm and skills to become a transformational leader in the industry as well as the creativity and passion to deliver meaningful results to clients.